Cheerleading is a Sport and Subway is Not Fast Food: Part 1

In this two-part blog series, I will be attacking two very controversial issues.   Cheerleading is a sport. A debate about this fact has been going on for quite a while now.  I have decided to officially come out with my opinion on the matter. Here are 5 reasons why I consider cheerleading a sport: 1. It is tiring.  Cheerleading is more exhausting than other ‘sports’ accepted by society. (Yes golf, I am looking at you – but that is a whole other blog post.)  You try jumping and dancing (all while staying peppy and smiling) for hours on end! I don’t know about you, but I can barely talk when I exercise. 2. It requires mental focus and determination. If your team is losing, you cannot let your utter disappointment in them show. That is much easier said than done. 3. It requires training. These people practice and train. People aren’t born doing flips and handsprings. Also, not many people can pick up others, throw them high in the air, and catch them without any harm to either party. Think about it people. 4. The older you are, the more competitive it gets. This is a great marker of sports. Collegiate and professional cheerleaders have had to earn spots on their squads, just like in soccer, basketball, etc. 5. They compete. In my mind, something is not really a sport until you compete in it. Since cheerleaders have competitions, it is hard to dismiss it as a sport.   I admit that cheerleading has its flaws, but we should not discredit it all together.  Plus, cheerleading may have the coolest name for a team ever: a squad. Let me tell you, I would much rather have been on a soccer squad my whole life.  Also, cheerleaders always have the backs of other athletes; you might even say they are extensions of any basketball or football team.  So “2-4-6-8, who do we appreciate? Cheerleaders!” If you have any counter arguments, BRING IT ON because I am FIRED UP! Cheerleading

Write what you think

