“…or does that make me sound too desperate?”

How many of us have said this at one point in our lives? Probably everyone.  Nobody wants to seem desperate or like they want something with all their heart. On a college campus, people are desperate for just about everything (myself included!). People are desperate for simple things like good grades, a free meal, a job after they graduate, or even just one night with 8+ hours of sleep. But people also are desperate for more real needs like to be included, and especially things like love and marriage.  The other night I was in bed thinking about desperation and I began to wonder if it is actually deserving of its negative connotation.

So at 2:30am I decided that the reason we are desperate is because we are so broken.  We live in despair. We live in evil. We have legitimate needs that simply cannot be fulfilled. It makes sense for us to be so desperate for so many things, but we must remember where these things come from: God.  Success, love, acceptance, praise, and health all come directly from Him.  James 1:17 says, “Every good and perfect gift is from above…” So go ahead and be desperate! But be desperate for Him above all else. It is okay to be desperate, in fact, it is smart to be desperate, but only if you are desperate for the right thing.  Notice I said ‘thing’ not THINGS because only God is worth all your hope and all your heart. Anything else is idolatry.

Don’t be desperate for God because we need Him to fallback on.  Yes, we are going to screw up and yes, we are going to fall back on Him time and time again. However, thinking of God in a “if all else fails, at least I still have Him” way is not true desperation.  God is not a fallback. God is not someone who you run to after everyone else has abandoned you. God must come first! He must come before your boyfriend, fiancé, or husband (I don’t know much about marriage, but I at least know that).  He must come before your friends. If you are exhausted and in desperate need of rest, run to Him before running to your bed.  Run to His arms before your SO’s if you are desperate for comfort. God doesn’t mind desperation. He is never going to turn you away because you seem ‘too desperate.’ HE WANTS YOU TO BE. THAT IS THE POINT. 

I think Christians these days tend to forget their brokenness. They value Christian community overDesperation being in community with God. Don’t get me wrong, I am all about people and relationships.  I think they are great and awesome and fun and beneficial and did I say fun? But my friends are broken and dead in their sin just like me. God is the source of life! Saying that God is a big part of my life and that he is source of my life are two completely different things. One way, I fit Him into my world, and the other way I have no world without Him.

Desperation is awesome. Desperation draws you closer to God. Desperation is not something to be frowned upon or avoided: it is to be embraced and directed.  Direct your desperation toward God, and you will be satisfied.  In Psalm 50:15 God promises, “call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.”

So don’t worry about being desperate, we were made to be. We weren’t made to be self-sufficient. You have help. You have a Father. You have a Savior. You have been set free! Text God twice in a row, tell you love him on your first date, let him know you want to see Him every day, read every word He has ever written. You can never be too desperate for God. 

Write what you think

