Week 2

It’s crazy to think my trip is almost halfway over.  Keep reading to find out more about my second full week in Spain! 

Sunday, July 10, 2016

  • Finally a relaxing morning!
  • The main activity of the day was biking along Madrid Río, something I really wanted to do during my time here and it was as fun as I expected!
  • Dinner: Paella negro! Basically black rice with stuff in it…it was really good and this is a very typical Spanish food (and made by my host sister!)

 

Monday, July 11, 2016

  • School…bleh.
  • Tierra for lunch: aka Spanish Chipotle! It was not as good as real Chipotle, bu it was definitely a nice taste of home!
  • Shopppinnnggggg! Still haven’t found sandals, but I got some cute clothes!
  • Host mom came home (:

 

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

  • Schoooooolllll is so boring now!
  • Lunch: Takos! A super good taco place hidden in the city. The tacos are delicious and super cheap!
  • Tarea on tarea on tarea (homework on homework on homework)

 

Wednesday-Thursday, July 13-14, 2016

  • Just did a lot of schoolwork and took a midterm. Nothing super exciting to report other than I can’t believe I’ve taken a MIDTERM and only have 8 more full days of class left!

 

Friday, July 15, 2016

  • Day trip to El Escorial and The Valley of the Fallen!
  • El Escorial: absolutely gorgeous! Unfortunately we weren’t allowed to take pictures inside the building, but it was stunning inside and out. My favorite part was the crypt where tons of super important kings and queens of Spain are buried along with their families. We learned all about the structure and best of all, it was in the mountains! I love mountains J Being in the mountains meant cooler air and prettier views! So much of it was created from marble and it just felt so royal, impressive, and majestic. The church inside was also gorgeous, and people can actually go there for mass every Sunday still. Can’t believe I walked the same hallways as famous royalty!
  • Valle de los Caídos (Valley of the Fallen): my favorite part of my entire trip to Spain so far. It is a monument built to honor/bury the soldiers who died in the Spanish Civil War fighting for Francisco Franco, the dictator who won the war. He had it built for his men at the hands of Spanish soldiers who were taken prisoner during the war…a very somber place, but also breathtaking. The absolute coolest part is that it is built INSIDE the mountains. I felt like Iwas in Lord of the Rings and it was amazing. The basilica is carved out of the mountains and is incredible. On top of it (above ground), there is a massive cross that marks the center of the basilica. The views here were my favorite and it was sooooooo cool to go into the mountains like that. It was also really eye opening to learn more about the Spanish Civil War, which only ended in 1936, and the reign of Franco. I felt bad that I was smiling so much because it is a tomb and the story behind it is quite sad. Anyway, we saw Franco’s tomb and I was so impressed with this place.
  • Time to eat, shower, and pack because really early tomorrow morning I leave for Valencia!

It wasn’t  super exciting week I’m afraid, but the day trip today was really fun!  Also, I’m posting a day early this week since I’m heading off to Valencia for the weekend. Check back next week to find out about my trip! Hasta luego!

xoxo Marie

Write what you think

